New CPR cable classification

Euroclasses and Additional Criteria

Under the CPR, cables are classified in 7 Euroclasses according to their contribution to fire: Aca, B1ca, B2ca, Cca, Dca, Eca and Fca. Main classification criteria are flame spread and heat release.
On top of this, are defined 3 additional criteria: smoke production, flaming droplets/particles and acidity of the combustion gasses.


CPR_euroclasses+trap CPR_euroclasses_safety
Euroclass Contribution to fire
Aca None
B1ca Barely
B2ca Very limited
Cca Limited
Dca Average
Eca High
Fca Very high

If you need a cable with improved fire performance, you should choose a cable type within Euroclasses B2ca, Cca, Dca or Eca.

Additional criteria

Euroclass        Additional criteria
Aca --
B1ca CPR_AdditionnalCriteria
Eca --
Fca --

Performance levels of the additional criteria:

  Performance level Meaning
Smoke production s1 Low
   s1a Low + light transmission >80%
   s1b Low + light transmission >60%
s2 Average
s3 Not s1 or s2
Flaming droplets/particles d0 None
d1 Few
d2 Not d0 or d1
(pH and conductivity)
a1 Low
a2 Limited
a3 Not a1 or a2